Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

April 30, 2024

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President:

We write in support of the formal request from the State of Oklahoma, through the office of Governor Kevin Stitt, that was submitted on April 30, 2024, for a major disaster declaration, including individual and public assistance for Carter, Cotton, Garfield, Johnson, Kay, Lincoln, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, and Wagoner Counties as well as the Chickasaw, Creek, and Choctaw Nations to recover from last weekend's weather from severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, wind-driven rain, flooding, hail, and fire related to lightning strikes. An Executive Order declaring a State of Emergency in these counties (E.O. 2024-07) was issued on April 28, 2024.

Severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, hail, and flooding began impacting the State of Oklahoma on the evening of Saturday, April 27 and continued to cause damage to public and private properties within the State, ultimately winding down in the early hours of April 28. As usual, Oklahomans demonstrated the Oklahoma Standard when they stepped up to help their families and neighbors as they begin the process of cleaning up the debris and repairing damage to homes, churches, and businesses.

State and local officials have informed us that this incident is of such severity and magnitude that effective response and recovery is beyond the combined capability of the state and local governments, and that federal assistance is necessary to save lives, protect property, and to ensure the safety of these communities.

As such, we respectfully urge you to approve the Governor's request for the counties listed above. We stand ready to provide any assistance needed to ensure the prompt evaluation of this request. Please reach out to our offices with any questions on this matter.

Sincerely,

James Lankford

United States Senator

Frank Lucas

Member of Congress

Kevin Hern

Member of Congress

Josh Brecheen Member of Congress Tom Cole

Member of Congress

Varlespre Mell:

United States Senator

Markwayne Mullin

Stephanie Bice

Member of Congress